Petrophysics Summer School will be held June 30-July 6 2018 at University of Leicester, UK.  Apply by March 23. 

MagellanPlus Workshop Series Programme has important two special calls for workshop proposals due April 1. Topics are Demystifying the IODP proposal process for early career scientists and  Initiating concepts for a future scientific ocean drilling programme beyond 2023. 

The final report of the Deep Crustal Drilling Engineering Working Group convened by the JR Facility Board is now available.

Videos of presentations from the 2017 JpGU-AGU joint meeting session on scientific ocean drilling are now available.

Consensus Items from the 4th IODP Forum meeting are available.

Keeping Our Focus on the Subseafloor: Eos opinion page on the value of marine seismic facilities. 

Expedition cancelled: The ECORD Science Operator regrettably announced the cancellation of Expedition 377 (Arctic Ocean Paleoceanography). 

New Publication: Volume 361 of the Proceedings of the IODP, Southern African Climates (Agulhas LGM Density Profile) is now available.  

Read NSF's Dear Colleague Letter seeking proposals to support workshops that build collaboration between NSF's Engineering and Marine Geology & Geophysics research communities to advance seafloor sensing capabilities. 

New Scientific Drilling:  Scientific Drilling volume 22 is now available!

ESO has issued an update re: Exp 373 (Antarctic Cenozoic Paleoclimate), which is now delayed into winter 2020-2021 at the earliest. 

The Australasian IODP Regional Planning Workshop has issued a consensus statement on the need for site survey data for IODP. 

WATCH and share the new outreach video The Whirling Waters of Antarctica: IODP scientist, Dr. Peter Bijl (Utrecht University), works to reconstruct the history of the Antarctic circumpolar current during the warm Eocene period.

A white paper on Seagoing Seismic Imaging and Scientific Ocean Drilling based on discussions in the IODP Forum is available.

Science Community volunteers sought for JRSO Laboratory Working Groups.

See the Australia - New Zealand IODP Consortium 2016 Annual Report (with expedition summaries by ANZIC participants and much more).

 Keep Digging: A BBC radio story featuring Expedition 360 co-chiefs Henry Dick & Chris MacLeod and colleagues on the quest to sample Earth's mantle (featuring Walter Munk).

Wolf Berger, 1937-2017. Obituary from Scripps Institution of Oceanography. 

U.S. participants in the scientific ocean drilling community are encouraged to apply for the JOIDES Resolution Assessment Workshop in Denver, Sept 26-27, 2017. 

Travel support is available for U.S.-affiliated students and researchers for Petrophysics Summer School 2017 sponsored by the European Petrophysics Consortium. Application deadline extended to March 17.

Don't miss the special session at JpGU! Union Session U-03 - Discoveries from Subseafloor Sampling and Monitoring using Scientific Ocean Drilling is Monday, May 22, 2017 (9:00-12:15) in Room IC.

Apply for the ECORD Summer School 2017: Current Controlled Sea Floor Archives: Coral Mounds and Contourites - August 28 - September 1, 2017. Application deadline is May 5, 2017.

Apply to sail for Exp 380 aboard Chikyu by April 28.

Read NSF's Dear Colleague Letter on how the JR's Advanced Piston Coring capability will be made available to the U.S. community outside of IODP.

 Take the JR Community Survey! Read this important announcement about planning for the future of the JOIDES Resolution and take the survey by March 31. We hope to hear from all who have, or plan to, sail on the JR or used data acquired during her expeditions. 

Apply to Sail for IODP Expedition 376 Brothers Arc Flux by April 1. 

Nominate an IODP Scientist for the GSA Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award. The nomination deadline is April 1, 2017

Incoming CAB members: The IODP Facility Boards have approved the appointments of Beth Christensen and Richard Arculus to the Curatorial Advisory Board.

Expedition 373 (Antarctic Cenozoic Paleoclimate) has been postponed.

New SEP Co-Chair selected: The JOIDES Resolution Facility Board has named University of Texas geophysicist Sean Gulick as the next co-chair of the Science Evaluation Panel. Sean will replace outgoing co-chair Dave Mallinson effective October 1.  

Exp 354 publication: IODP Proceedings vol 354 (Bengal Fan) is now published. 

Exp 365 video: The final installment of Exploring the Fault Trace is now on YouTube, including connecting the Long-Term Borehole Monitoring System to the DONET cabled seafloor network. 

New JRFB science members selected: Wolfgang Bach (University of Bremen) and Liping Zhou (Peking University) will join the JR Facility Board beginning October 1